FlagCountry NameCapitalIndependence DayDate of joining OUA or AU
AlgeriaPeople's Democratic Republic of AlgeriaAlgiers
Republic of AngolaLuanda
Republic of AngolaLuanda
BeninRepublic of BeninPorto-Novo
BotswanaRepublic of BotswanaGaborone
Burkina FasoPeople's Republic of Burkina FasoOugadougou
Burkina FasoPeople's Republic of Burkina FasoOugadougou
BurundiRepublic of BurundiBujumbura
CameroonRepublic of CameroonYaoundé
Cabo verdeRepublic of Cabo VerdePraia
The Central-African RepublicCentral African RepublicBangui
ChadRepublic of ChadN'Djamena
ComorosUnion of the ComorosMoroni
The Republic of the CongoRepublic of the CongoBrazzaville
Côte d'IvoireRepublic of Côte d'IvoireAbidjan
DjiboutiRepublic of DjiboutiDjibouti
The Democratic Republic of the CongoDemocratic Republic of CongoKinshasa
EgyptArab Republic of EgyptCairo
Equatorial GuineaRepublic of Equatorial GuineaMalabo
EritreaState of EritreaAsmara
SwazilandKingdom of EswatiniMbabane
EthiopiaFederal Democratic Republic of EthiopiaAddis Ababa
EthiopiaFederal Democratic Republic of EthiopiaAddis Ababa
GabonGabonese RepublicLibreville
GambiaRepublic of The GambiaBanjul
GhanaRepublic of GhanaAccra
GuineaRepublic of GuineaConakry
Guinea-BissauRepublic of Guinea-BissauBissau
KenyaRepublic of KenyaNairobi
LesothoKingdom of LesothoMaseru
LiberiaRepublic of LiberiaMonrovia
LibyaState of LibyaTripoli
MadagascarRepublic of MadagascarAntananarivo
MalawiRepublic of MalawiLilongwe
MaliRepublic of MaliBamako
MauritaniaIslamic Republic of MauritaniaNouakchott
MauritiusRepublic of MauritiusPort Louis
MoroccoKingdom of MoroccoRabat
MozambiqueRepublic of MozambiqueMaputo
NamibiaRepublic of NamibiaWindhoek
NigerRepublic of the NigerNiamey
NigeriaFederal Republic of NigeriaAbuja
Uganda Republic of Republic of UgandaKampala
RwandaRepublic of RwandaKIigali
Western SaharaSahrawi Arab Democratic RepublicAauin
São Tomé and PríncipeDemocratic Republic of São Tomé and PríncipeSão Tomé
SenegalRepublic of SenegalDakar
SeychellesRepublic of SeychellesVictoria
Sierra LeoneRepublic of Sierra LeoneFreetown
SomaliaFederal Republic of SomaliaMogadishu
South AfricaRepublic of South AfricaPretoria
South SudanRepublic of South SudanJuba
SudanRepublic of The SudanKhartoum
TanzaniaUnited Republic of TanzaniaDar es Salaam
TogoTogolese RepublicLome
TunisiaRepublic of TunisiaTunis
ZambiaRepublic of ZambiaLusaka
ZimbabweRepublic of ZimbabweHarare
  1. Some Member State names have changed since joining the OAU or AU.
  2. Morocco left the AU’s predecessor, the OAU, in 1984. In September 2016, Morocco officially submitted a request to accede tothe AU Constitutive Act and become a member of the Union. The AU Assembly decided at its 28th Ordinary Session in January 2017 to admit Morocco as a new Member State (Assembly/AU/Dec.639(XXVIII)). Morocco deposited its instrument of accession to the Constitutive Act on 31 January 2017.